First National Commission for UNESCO Curaçao



NUC-Members                                                                                                    (photo Tico Vos)

 Curaçao became the 7th Associate Member of UNESCO on 25 October, 2011, during the 36th General Conference of UNESCO in Paris, France.

 On March 15th, 2012 the first Curaçao National Commission for UNESCO was established.  As part of the responsibilities of a new member to UNESCO, the UNESCO Constitution in Article VII states that each country that becomes a Member of the Organization must undertake to form a National Commission (NatCom) and to ensure that it functions properly.

 The National Commission’s structure is as follows: Chairperson is the Minister of Education, Science, Culture and Sport, Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Education, Science, Culture and Sport, Policy Director of the Ministry of Education, Science, Culture and Sport, Secretary General Secretariat, Education Specialist, Culture Specialists, World Heritage Specialist, Media Representative, Youth Representative, University of Curaçao and NAAM (National Archeological, Anthropological Memory Management). The Secretariat is headed by the Secretary General and working groups in the various fields of mandate by UNESCO work along with the NatCom members.